Hitting a wall

I am so tired.

My cat Frank kept me up most of the early morning: 1:00 am yowl session followed by a short nap; 2:00 am yowl session and pacing, followed by 5-minute play session with favorite string, followed by short nap; 3:40 am pacing and play session until 5:00 am feeding. Usually, he sleeps through the night, but lately, he has had periodic restlessness.

So today I am a walking zombie. I have no motivation to tackle the overflow of laundry in the hamper or to sort through the four boxes of miscellany taking up floor space in the bedroom. The cool May-gray weather isn’t helping either. My head feels dull and my taste buds are numb. My mind doesn’t want to focus, and my body doesn’t want to move.

How quickly lack of sleep can induce me into a temporary depression.

But a part of me knows that movement is life. I’ve got to move. I’ve got to do something.

So I put on my headphones and review a photography lesson on Lynda.com. Then I grab my camera and play with depth of field for twenty minutes. Then I read something inspiring, Seth Godin’s The Icarus Deception, for the rest of the afternoon.

I still feel like a zombie, but at least I moved. A little.

