Blogging 101 Assignment: Introduction

Hi! I’m Serena. I started blogging here at WordPress three months ago. I learned a few things on my own and from fellow bloggers, but now I’d like to learn more through the larger blogging community. So I signed up for WP’s Blogging 101.

Who am I? I’m a graphic designer living in San Diego, California. Most of what I do is print design and production with Adobe Indesign and Illustrator. I enjoy my busy day job, but there’s a lot of creative work that I don’t do anymore, such as photography, painting, and writing.

Why did I start a blog? I wanted a creative outlet. I wanted to get out of my comfort zone (not an easy thing for me). And I knew that a public blog would hold me accountable.

The tougher question for me was “What exactly will I put on my blog?” My original thought was to post some photography, illustrations, and writing. But as I started to get back into photography, which I hadn’t done for some time, I started to enjoy it again.

So my plan now is to do what feels good and spend time on photography for awhile. I’m quite rusty still, but I hope to improve quickly. Later this year, I plan to add some personal artwork.

I’m glad I joined WordPress’s community. There are a lot of talented and thoughtful people here, from all over the world. It’s a great mix of young and not so young, amateur and professional.

And I’m looking forward to meeting others in this session of Blogging 101!

10 thoughts on “Blogging 101 Assignment: Introduction

  1. Hello Serena! Having just started 3 months ago, you seem to be keeping up with blogging quite well. May I say, if it is photography and artwork that will be your main blogging content, you might want to change your blog’s theme for something that would display your lovely photography and artwork much better? There are plenty of great themes (free even!) for such use! Just a thought. Besides that, love the photos you have shared so far 😉

    If you have the chance, please do check out my first (long form, sorry for that) blogging101 post too: https://humsofsum.wordpress.com/2015/07/06/hello-again-wordpress-summer-in-present-2015/

    1. Hi, Summer-Tan.
      Thank you for the compliment. I do try to post regularly. Yes, I may change my theme as you suggest because my original intent was to write more. But it does seem I am going in the direction of a visually dominant site. I’ll have to check out the new themes. I’ll check out your blog now. Hope to see you around! 🙂

  2. Since I’ve seen the artichoke photo and read your story about Frank I look forward to what’s to come, whatever creative expression it is that you want to share. I’m also really excited that you are a graphic designer, which is something I’m working towards at the moment. I know this blog is meant for other things than your day job, but if you wouldn’t mind, is there any way (link or something) where I could see some of your graphic design work? Have a wonderful day 🙂

    1. Actually I don’t have any of my work online right now. When I do you’ll see something on this blog.

      Yes, I saw that you wish to be a graphic designer! I think that’s great! It can be a fun job but my advice is to continue to do your own creative, unbounded work outside of whatever work you do. That was my mistake. I thought my design job would satisfy me creatively, but it’s too limiting. Looking forward to seeing your work progress as we blog together.

Comments are closed.