To be koi

photo art of koi fishWhen I was little, we lived next door to a koi farm. I used to love visiting the pools of different koi, sorted by pattern, color, and size. I had no idea at the time that these fish could live beyond fifty years.

These two koi were shot at the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park in San Diego. The sun was overhead, so the glare on the water was strong.

Using Photoshop, I reduced the overall glare by playing with an Exposure adjustment layer. The water ripples popped out as a result, creating a graphic feel. I also neutralized the color a bit, to be more consistent with the Japanese tendency of toned-down color.

I really like the gray markings on each of the fish (those are actual markings) and the two shadows at the bottom of the pool.

2 thoughts on “To be koi

Comments are closed.