Zion National Park (4 photos)

One of the challenges of photographing Zion is the high contrast light. Since Zion is a deep canyon, my photos captured dark shadows against very bright, sunlit areas. So I had a hard time balancing the exposures. I don’t particularly care for shooting in HDR, but I haven’t figured out the best solution. For now, I just balanced what I could in Photoshop.

Another challenge is the scale of the canyon. Next time I go, I will have to get a wide angle lens.

Shooting in Zion was a great learning experience. I hope to improve my skills so that when I return, I’ll have better photos.

9 thoughts on “Zion National Park (4 photos)

    1. The water is such a pretty color there! I think it’s from the minerals in the stones. The pools weren’t as full as usual this time of year. I hear late spring to early summer is a great time to see the emerald pools and the waterfalls.

  1. Nice Photos of an area I’ve been to once and would like to return to someday soon… Concerning your challenge of capturing all the tones of a High Contrast Scene, are you shooting in Raw and processing in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) or Lightroom (LR) ? You would be surprised as to how much detail in the Shadows or Highlights you can recover using Raw and those softwares. If the Subjects Brightness Ratio (SBR) is too high (even in Raw format) and clipping of the shadows and/or highlights occurs the only solution that I know is to make multiple, varied, exposes of the scene. (Bracketing). Many modern cameras have a Bracketing Exposure Mode that allows you to take 3 or more varied exposures with a single push of the shutter release button. In LR or Photoshop (PS) you can merge these into a single image using the HDR automated process. I’m with you in that I do not like the “In Camera” HDR results but with PS or LR you have more cotrol and you can create a more natural appearance in the final image. Another method of using the multiple exposures in PS would be to create individual layers of each exposure variation and use a Layer Mask to brush in the details that are lacking in the Base Image. Hope this gives you something to think about and keep on shooting… I especially like your more abstract compositions…. JP

    1. Thanks so much for the tips, JP! I think you’ve just outlined my next few lessons. 🙂

      I did not shoot RAW because the Nikon camera I have only shoots jpegs. But I have done some adjustments in ACR with the jpegs with some success.

      I do need to learn bracketing on my old Canon DSLR, the camera that I did not take on my trip because it’s bulky. I do think that might help. And that camera does shoot in RAW as well. I’ll experiment with the HDR process within Photoshop as you suggest.

Comments are closed.