Tinged With Blue

Close-up of succulent
Close-up of succulent

As autumn approaches and the gray clouds take residence here, I realize that I can stop being afraid of flat or filtered light.

Earlier this year, I didn’t know how to work with flat light well. I grumbled about it in June/July (ex: here and here). But now, I know I need to choose my subjects accordingly. I shot this plant in natural filtered light, then applied some post-processing in Photoshop. And the textures really made a difference, leaving more for the eye to see.

I like how details pop more in overcast conditions. Subtle striations and ripples are more obvious. So now that the days are getting shorter, and the sun is less intense, I’m a little more interested in textures rather than contrast.

Recently, my husband challenged me to shoot more color images. I told him I’d give it a go. I guess I am slightly resistant to doing color. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because my early photographic education (studying graphic communications back in my college days) was in black and white film photography. I did not take any color photography. So I do need the practice.

7 thoughts on “Tinged With Blue

  1. Hi, that’s a stunning photo. I really love the texture and angle. Living here in England, you get quite a lot of overcast situations but I personally prefer the late summer evenings. There are no strong contrast and the light is gentle and warm. I feel the the cloudy sky takes away the warm feeling of the pictures. But maybe this is only because I’m not choosing the right white balance? Hm, anyways, very nice pictures and I am looking forward to more colour shots 🙂

Comments are closed.