This Old Horse

old-horse
Photo of a 1912 IHC High Wheeler Model A, taken at the America’s Car Museum in Tacoma,WA.

Stuck In A Rut

I haven’t been posting because I’ve been in sort of a rut the past couple of weeks. Usually, I can snap out of it, but this time it’s taking me a little longer.

Part of it is because I’m trying to find my creative way. What do I want to share creatively? What do I want to make? What gives me joy? The other part is that I have a tendency to let everyday practical matters take over the hours of my day.

The TV producer and writer, Shonda Rhimes gave a Ted Talk that was posted recently. She has a name for when you are creatively flowing. She calls it “the hum,” and in her talk, she speaks about the time she lost the hum. Until her kids reminded her how to get “the hum” back.

You need to remember to play.

So I need to remind myself: thinking and strategizing is not play; cleaning the house and running errands is not play; skill-building is not play; research is not play. Exploration is play. Imagination is play. Engagement is play. Novelty is play.

Please excuse me while I go outside and play.

 

 

7 thoughts on “This Old Horse

  1. I love this photo! And I say post away regardless! Perhaps something that you don’t particularly find joy in, someone else will? But definitely yes… go play and renew! 😀

  2. I need your energy, Paula!!! Thanks for boosting mine! I wanted to fine-tune this photo awhile ago and just couldn’t get it done until this week. My flow is definitely not on right now, but I’m working on it.

    1. You’re right. We can’t have one without the other. And it’s our natural tendency since birth, right? But my adult brain likes to get in the way. I think that’s been my greatest challenge.

  3. Hi Serena,
    This photo is a great example of “Why B&W”.

    If you haven’t all ready read Steven Pressfield’s “The War of Art” I highly recommend it to understand the Ups and Downs of the artist.

    JP

Comments are closed.